CCP Annual Meeting & Philanthropy Awards

Friday, May 12, 2017 -
11:00am to 2:00pm EDT
Hartford Marriott Downtown, 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT
Add to Calendar


QUESTIONS? contact Tiffany Walton, Executive Assistant and Office Manager, 860-525-5585.

For staff and trustees of grantmaking and nonprofit organizations, community leaders, government officials and invited guests

Enjoy networking with colleagues, meet new CCP President Karla Fortunato, welcome new CCP Board members, and congratulate the Philanthropy Award honorees.

KEYNOTE: We the People: Equity, Democracy and the New American Demos

CCP has engaged Heather McGhee, president of Demos, to give a thought provoking keynote address on how all Americans can work to bridge our nation’s racial divide. We trust that it will spur serious discussion among your colleagues and inform several CCP programs later in the year thanks to support from the Newman's Own Foundation.

Heather C. McGhee is president of Demos, a public policy organization working for an America where all have an equal say in our democracy and an equal chance in our economy. A recognized thought leader on the national stage, McGhee frequently appears on shows such as Meet the Press, Real Time with Bill Maher, and Hardball with Chris Matthews. Her opinions, writing and research have appeared in numerous outlets, including The New York Times, The Nation, and The Hill. She is one of The Root’s "23 Black Political Pundits You Should Know" and one of Grist’s "50 People You’ll Be Talking about in 2016." She has received the NYU’s McSilver Award for Leaders in the Fight Against Poverty and Citizen Action of New York’s Progressive Leadership Award. Read Heather's Bio >>

Read Heather's recent opinion piece in the New York Times - 'I'm Prejudiced,' He Said. Then We Kept Talking. >>

CCP has announced a two-year schedule starting in 2017 when the Annual Meeting will be a keynote luncheon event, and in 2018, a full-day philanthropy conference. The luncheon and conference will alternate every year.


Over many years, CCP has developed a tradition of giving out special awards in recognition of leadership, service and innovation in philanthropy.

The John H. Filer Award and the Martha S. Newman Award will be announced in time for the CCP Annual Meeting on May 12, 2017, and every other year thereafter. The Nancy S. Roberts Award will be given in 2018 at the biennial CCP Philanthropy Conference, and at each biennial conference thereafter. Learn more about the Philanthropy Awards >>


For information or multiple reservations, contact Tiffany Walton, Executive Assistant and Office Manager, 860-525-5585.

Cancellations must be received by Monday, May 1, 2017 to receive a refund.









Connecticut Health Foundation

Fairfield County's Community Foundation

NewAlliance Foundation

Northwest Connecticut Community Foundation

Special thanks to:

Premier Accounting


Contact Tiffany Walton, Executive Assistant and Office Manager, 860-525-5585.