Area Students Encouraged to Apply for Robert T. Kenney Scholarship

Thursday, January 31, 2019

NEW BRITAIN, CT -- The Robert T. Kenney Scholarship Program at the American Savings Foundation is currently accepting applications from current high school seniors, current college students, and nontraditional adult students who will be enrolled in college for the 2019-2020 academic year. This year, the Foundation expects to award over $750,000 in support to nearly 400 new and renewing scholars who will be studying at a wide range of 4-year colleges and universities, 2-year colleges, and at accredited technical/vocational programs.

Students can apply online at Applications are due by March 31, 2019. The Foundation’s new website also has links to other area scholarship opportunities and answers to frequently asked questions about the Robert T. Kenney scholarship program.

“Our goal is to help reduce some of the financial stress that can keep hard-working students from finishing their degree” said Maria Falvo, President and CEO of the American Savings Foundation. “This scholarship is renewable, and over 80% of our freshmen recipients earned their bachelor’s degree within 5 years. Scholarships can make a big difference.”

Scholarships are awarded primarily based on financial need, with consideration given to academic performance, community involvement, and other indications of a strong desire to achieve goals through education. Applicants must live in one of the 64 Connecticut towns served by American Savings Foundation. Current high school seniors must be ranked in the top 1/3 of their graduating class or have a 2.5 GPA or higher. Current college students must be maintaining a 2.5 GPA or higher.

Throughout its history, the Foundation has provided nearly $12 million to 2,348 students through its scholarship program. The American Savings Foundation is a permanent charitable endowment that also awards grants to area nonprofit organizations.

The foundation accepts scholarship applications from residents of any of the following 64 Connecticut towns: Andover, Ashford, Avon, Barkhamsted, Beacon Falls, Berlin, Bethlehem, Bloomfield, Bolton, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, Chaplin, Chester, Clinton, Colebrook, Columbia, Coventry, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Granby, East Hampton, East Hartford, Essex, Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby, Haddam, Hebron, Killingworth, Madison, Manchester, Mansfield, Marlborough, Meriden, Middlebury, Middletown, Naugatuck, New Britain, Newington, Old Saybrook, Oxford, Plainville, Portland, Prospect, Rocky Hill, Seymour, Simsbury, Southbury, Southington, Thomaston, Tolland, Torrington, Waterbury, Watertown, West Hartford, Westbrook, Wethersfield, Willington, Winchester, Windham, Wolcott, and Woodbury.

For more information and to apply, students and parents can visit or call the Foundation at 860-827-2556.



Maria Falvo
President & CEO

Website & Social: | Facebook | LinkedIn 

Find More By

News type
Funding Area