Tauck Family Foundation Honored with Philanthropy Award

Thursday, May 24, 2018

HARTFORD, CT – The Connecticut Council for Philanthropy (CCP) has named Tauck Family Foundation the recipient of the 2018 Nancy P. Roberts Award for Innovation in Philanthropy.

From among six worthy nominees, CCP’s Awards Committee chose the Tauck Family Foundation, a private, multi-generational family foundation that invests in organizations and initiatives that equip the children of Bridgeport, Connecticut with the necessary social and emotional skills to thrive academically and in life. The foundation was selected for its innovation, impact, and the collaborative nature of their work.

“I’d like to thank the Connecticut Council for Philanthropy and all its members for this very special recognition and for all the resources and support that CCP has provided to us over the years, said Liz Tauck Walters, President of Tauck Family Foundation.”

Tauck Family Foundation’s work reaches more than 70% of Bridgeport’s 11,000 children in pre-kindergarten through fifth grade through its four investees: Achievement First Bridgeport Academy Elementary School; Horizons at Greens Farms Academy; New Beginnings Family Academy; and Bridgeport Public Schools’ Social and Emotional Learning Initiative, a partnership between the Yale University School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry, the Yale Center for Emotional Intelligence, and the Bridgeport Public Schools.

In 1994, The Tauck Family Foundation was founded by Arthur C. Tauck, Jr. to foster a legacy of giving and community involvement in Connecticut. The Foundation has grown and evolved over the years, and today the board includes multiple generations of family members, as well as a professional staff. The Foundation’s board chair is Arthur Tauck; its board president is Liz Tauck Walters; and its executive director is Mirellise Vazquez.

“The awards committee was particularly impressed with the Tauck Family Foundation’s investments to prepare Bridgeport students to thrive in school by ensuring they have the social and emotional skills needed to learn,” said CCP President Karla Fortunato. “In the three years since they implemented this model, great improvements can already be seen.”

CCP applauds the work of five other funders who were nominated for the Nancy P. Roberts Award, including: Fairfield County’s Community Foundation; Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Foundation; Nellie Mae Education Foundation; United Way of Coastal Fairfield County; and Working Cities Challenge Connecticut.

About the Nancy P. Roberts Award
In May 2013 the Council board established the Nancy P. Roberts Award for demonstrated innovation in philanthropy. This award honors Nancy for her decades-long commitment to the field of philanthropy through her leadership of CCP as its president from 1991-2013. The next award will be given in 2020. For more information about CCP's Philanthropy Awards visit CCP’s website.

About the Connecticut Council for Philanthropy
The Connecticut Council for Philanthropy is the state’s association of grantmakers. The organization, founded in 1969, is committed to promoting and supporting effective philanthropy for the public good. CCP membership is comprised by foundations, business and corporate giving programs, bank trusts, donor-advised funds, individual philanthropists, and those serving the philanthropic sector. CCP members annually grant more than $1.01 billion from assets of more than $8.4 billion. Learn more at www.CTphilanthropy.org.

Photo Caption: Tauck Family Foundation receives the 2018 Nancy P. Roberts Award for Innovation in Philanthropy. (Left to right)CCP President Karla Fortunato, CCP Board Chair Kathryn Luria, Webster Bank; Tauck Family Foundation President Liz Tauck Walters, and Nancy P. Roberts.



Karla Fortunato
Connecticut Council for Philanthropy

Website: www.CTphilanthropy.org

Find More By

News type
Related Organizations: