Diane Sierpina Honored with Philanthropy Award

Thursday, May 25, 2017

HARTFORD, CT – The Connecticut Council for Philanthropy (CCP) named DIANE SIERPINA, Director of Justice Initiatives for New Canaan-based The Tow Foundation, the recipient of the 2017 Martha S. Newman Award. Diane, a resident of Stamford, CT, was honored for her demonstrated, sustained, and exemplary service to the philanthropic sector in the state.

Diane is responsible for the Foundation’s juvenile justice and criminal justice reform strategy and investments, which average more than $2.5 million a year. Diane has been an advocate of evidence-based, youth-centered justice system reform in Connecticut, New York, and nationally through her leadership roles with the Connecticut Juvenile Justice Alliance, the New York Juvenile Justice Initiative, and the Youth Transition Funders Group.

“Diane demonstrates all of the characteristics you could hope for in an awardee, including a long history of providing counsel and mentoring to her peers,” said Emily Tow Jackson, executive director of The Tow Foundation and past CCP Board member. “In addition to representing The Tow Foundation's vision to the public, Diane regularly advises new foundation staff, young social entrepreneurs, and philanthropic families as they develop their funding strategies.”

Diane is the founding tri-chair of the Program Officers Network of the Connecticut Council for Philanthropy, and is an active member of Philanthropy New York. She earned a B.S. in Journalism summa cum laude from Boston University.

About the Martha S. Newman Award
The award was established in 2007 by the Council to honor the life and work of Martha S. Newman, who before her death in 2005 served as a staff member for several grantmaking organizations. Her combination of firmness and gentleness, her work ethic, integrity and dedication, and her knowledge of community needs made her an invaluable staff member, mentor, and friend. Martha Newman set the standard for an exemplary staff member. For more information about the Newman Award including previous recipients visit the CCP’s website.

About the Connecticut Council for Philanthropy
The Connecticut Council for Philanthropy (CCP) is an association of grantmakers committed to promoting and supporting effective philanthropy for the public good. CCP’s members are foundations (private, corporate, community), business and corporate giving programs, bank trusts, donor-advised funds, individual philanthropists, and those serving the philanthropic sector. CCP members granted more than $858 million from assets of more than $7.6 billion in 2014. For more information go to www.CTphilanthropy.org.

Photo: (right) Emily Tow Jackson, executive director of The Tow Foundation and past CCP Board member, presents CCP’s 2017 Martha S. Newman Award to Diane Sierpina, Director of the Tow Foundation’s Justice Initiatives.



Karla Fortunato
Connecticut Council for Philanthropy

Website: www.CTphilanthropy.org

Find More By

News type