Women and Girls Funds

Throughout the world, philanthropy by women and girls and for women and girls has grown, strengthened and become more visible. Here in Connecticut, women and girls’ funds have become a force in philanthropy.

For information, contact Dee Goodrich, Director of Member Engagement, 860-525-5585.


Women and Girls Funds in Connecticut

A list of funds, their host organizations, contacts and web sites.

Aurora Foundation for Women and Girls in Greater Hartford 
Jennifer Steadman
860-881-4926
jsteadman@aurorafoundation.org
www.aurorafoundation.org

The Community Fund for Women & Girls
The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven
Sharon Cappetta
203-777-2386
scappetta@cfgnh.org
www.cfgnh.org

Sari A. Rosenbaum Fund for Women & Girls
Community Foundation of Middlesex County
Cynthia Clegg
860-347-0025
cynthia@middlesexcountycf.org
www.middlesexcountycf.org

The Women & Girls' Fund
Main Street Community Foundation
Jarre Betts
860-583-6363
jarre@mainstreetfoundation.org
www.mainstreetfoundation.org

The Women's Initiative Fund
Connecticut Community Foundation
Ellen Carter 
203-753-1315
ecarter@conncf.org
www.conncf.org

Fund for Women and Girls
Fairfield County's Community Foundation
Tricia A. Hyacinth and Alex Quesada 
203-750-3208
thyacinth@fccfoundation.org
aquesada@fccfoundation.org
www.fccfoundation.org

The Lillian Fund
Jewish Community Foundation of Greater Hartford
Rise Roth and Michael Elfenbaum
860-532-7460
rroth@jcfhartford.org
melfenbaum@jcfhartford.org
www.jcfhartford.org

Women & Girls Fund - Southeastern Area
Women & Girls Fund - Northeast CT
Women & Girls Fund - Norwich Area
Women & Girls Fund - Windham Area

Community Foundation of Eastern Connecticut
Alison Woods and Lilli Rhodes 
860-442-3572
alison@cfect.org
lillian@cfect.org
www.cfect.org

The Women's & Girls' Fund
Community Foundation of Northwest Connecticut
Barbara Dughi
860-626-1245
bdughi@gmail.org
www.cfnwct.org

Find More By

Type of resource
Funding Area

Resources

The Status of Women in Connecticut's Workforce

The Permanent Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW) has released a new research report from the Institute for Women’s Policy Research (IWPR) titled: “The Status of Women in Connecticut’s Workforce.”

All in for Her: A Call to Action

Women Moving Millions' report, "All In For Her: A Call To Action," puts a direct request before the women it says have the capacity to give $1 trillion a year globally. New data on Women's Giving includes: Women control a significant and
growing part of North American and global wealth; women currently control an estimated $13.2 trillion of wealth in North America.

The Aurora Report

The Aurora Women and Girls Foundation, through a generous grant from The Ensworth Charitable Trust, Bank of America, N.A., Trustee, commissioned the first comprehensive study of women and girls in Hartford County. The study examines the opportunities and challenges for Hartford County females in education, economic security, leadership, health and well being, and crime and safety, as well as the demographic composition of women and girls and their philanthropic giving.

The Full Circle of Women & Girls

In The Full Circle of Women and Girls in Fairfield County, the Fairfield County Community Foundation’s Fund for Women and Girls reviews the diverse challenges faced by women and girls in our communities.

Women Give 2013: New Research on Charitable Giving by Girls and Boys

"Women Give" is the signature research project of the Women's Philanthropy Institute. Each report offers insights into why and how gender matters in philanthropy. Women Give 2013 focuses on charitable giving by girls and boys and assesses whether the gender differences observed in adult charitable giving begin to emerge at younger ages.

State of Girls: Unfinished Business

The State of Girls: Unfinished Business is a groundbreaking report from the Girl Scout Research Institute that stakes out key issues and major trends affecting girls' leadership and healthy development in the U.S. today.

Women Give 2012

"Women Give" is the signature research project of the Women's Philanthropy Institute. Each report offers insights into why and how gender matters in philanthropy. Women Give 2012 focuses on the effect of age and gender on giving with a spotlight on Boomers and older Americans.