Philanthropy Awards

During CCP's 50th Anniversary year we recognized philanthropic leadership and service with two of our prestigious awards:

John H. Filer Award honors individual(s) who have demonstrated leadership in encouraging private action for the public good in Connecticut.
Martha S. Newman Award honors an individual who has demonstrated outstanding staff performance in serving the philanthropic community.

Awardees were honored at CCP's 2019 Annual Conference, Reimagining Philanthropy: Strategies for Success, on May 7. 

John H. Filer Award   |   Martha S. Newman Award   |   Nancy P. Roberts Award

John H. Filer Award

The John H. Filer Award was established by CCP's Board of Directors in 1997 to honor the memory of an individual who inspired his peers in Hartford’s business community by example and urged the nation’s business leaders to accept the responsibility of corporate citizenship. The Filer Award is given to an individual or individuals who are leaders in promoting private action for the public good. Nominees should embody a creative spirit and serve as a model and inspiration to others in promoting philanthropy and solving societal problems.

Learn more about nominating a Community Leader for 2019 >>

Martha S. Newman Award

The Martha S. Newman Award was established to honor the memory of Martha Newman, a much-loved and well-respected member of the philanthropic community in Hartford for many years. Martha set the standard for an exemplary staff member. The Newman Award is given to a staff member of a philanthropic organization who has demonstrated sustained and exemplary service to one or more organizations and the philanthropic sector in the state.

Learn more about nominating a Colleague for 2019 >>  

Nancy P. Roberts Award

In May 2013, CCP's board established the Nancy P. Roberts Award for demonstrated innovation in philanthropy to honor Nancy's outstanding contribution to philanthropy in Connecticut. 

Learn more about nominating an Organization in 2020 >>