Criteria, Eligibility and Nomination Forms for the Roberts Award

The Nancy P. Roberts Award

honors a foundation or grantmaking organization

for sustained innovation

in philanthropy.

This Award will next be given in 2020.



Photo: Nancy P. Roberts with Janice Elliot, executive director, The Melville Charitable Trust -- the inaugural awardee.

Nancy P. Roberts Award Recipients

2018 - Tauck Family Foundation
2015 - The Walker Group
2014 - The Melville Charitable Trust


The Connecticut Council for Philanthropy will recognize a Connecticut foundation or grantmaking organization for its innovative philanthropy. Nominee innovation must be for philanthropic activity that has some demonstrable impact or effect in Connecticut—statewide, in a region or in a community.

Types of innovation in philanthropy can include, but are not limited to:

  • Forming a creative public/private partnership
  • Encouraging a paradigm shift
  • Developing an unusual collaboration
  • Engaging in creative funding or investing
  • Implementing a unique grantmaking strategy
  • Leveraging resources by engaging in public policy activities
  • Creating a culture of learning


  • Nominee organizations must be a current Connecticut Council for Philanthropy member
  • Individuals are not eligible for the award
  • Anyone may nominate a member funder, except members of the Connecticut Council for Philanthropy’s Awards Committee. If an Awards Committee member’s organization is nominated, they will recuse themselves from the selection process. Self-nominations will not be accepted.


The Connecticut Council for Philanthropy will annually appoint a committee to review nominations and to select the honoree. This award will be given in conjunction with the CCP’s Philanthropy Event to be held in Spring 2020.

Nomination Process - Forms will be available in January 2020.

  • Write a letter of nomination describing the nominee organization related to the innovative philanthropy selection criteria. Be specific in your comments.
  • Complete the nomination form
  • Attach a brief (up to one-page) history of the nominee organization.

Nominations must be received via email by March 15, 2020. Send to:


Contact: Laurie Allen, Director of Communications; 860-525-5585